Why do I need to know about EYFS? (Early Years Foundation Stage)

The EYFS sets the standards for all childcare, nurseries, childminders, preschool and reception years.

The EYFS will be the stage your child is in when they attend a setting or a childminder’s home between birth and the age of five. It is also the stage that they are in until the end of Reception year at school.

Children do best when parents and professionals work together.

It is important to remember that you know more about your own child than anyone else. Practitioners should be asking about your child and sharing information with you about your child’s progress.

Understanding what your child is doing when they are with others will help you to notice how well they are developing and learning.

The part you play in their learning and the choices you make will make a difference to their future.

The main aim of the EYFS is to help each child achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes:-

- To be healthy

- To stay safe

- To enjoy and achieve

- To make a positive contribution

- To achieve economic wellbeing

What is the EYFS?

The EYFS is a stage of children’s development from birth to the end of their first year (Reception) year in school.

The EYFS Framework describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their development and learning.

It describes how your child should be kept safe and cared for and how all concerned can make sure that your child achieves the most that they can in their earliest years of life.

The EYFS is based on four important principles:

A Unique Child

Positive Relationships

Enabling Environments

Learning and Development